Collage Final

CollageFinal

 

Around the late hours of the afternoon, the Daily Evergreen editors begin the early preparations of putting together the next day’s paper. This can be anywhere from discussing the column margins, sports content, photo content/size, etc.

My earlier draft version, although not on here, did not feature the “DE” (for Daily Evergreen) . I wanted to include some traditional print news element in the and the Daily has a logo that has a similar match up but with a different font. The font itself I had to get from a website that offers many downloadable fonts for free.

I wanted to try and do something clever with my background for this collage; I didn’t want to go online and just find some stock photo or use one provided by the Daily. The font was probably the trickiest part of this project because I had to make it stand out in front of the background, which I ended up having to turn into a layer somehow. The font was pretty generic and solid black at first,  but I played around with ‘inner glow’ for bordering and added some shadowing.

I was going through some Daily’s I had picked up over the past couple weeks and found one that had just the right headline.With some positioning I got my “title” of this collage left-center. I took the photo with just my phone’s camera. The background was still pretty dull though because of the fluorescent light, I modified this with vibrance and hue/saturation.

The photos of the editing staff I took were in the Daily office and the lighting isn’t exactly ideal. I improved the photos by adjusting effects such as levels, exposure, vibrance and hue/saturation. I also added borders to all of them, they are pretty slim but I wanted to make them just big enough to stand out in the collage.

Leave a Reply

